Monica’s Musings: Happy 2014 to everyone!

Happy 2014 to everyone! Can you believe 2013 is over? I can’t. I remember being a kid and adults going on and on about time moving so fast. I thought they were crazy. It tended to move so slooow to me, especially when I was in school. Then I grew up, got married, had kids and discovered all those adults griping about time were right. It moves way too fast. But I digress because really, I wanted to talk to you today about THREE BROKEN PROMISES, the third book in the One Week Girlfriend series. I am so excited it’s out for all the world to read. Here is where time seemed to stand still for me. It felt like forever ago that we set the release date, I turned in the manuscript, the edits, … Continued

New Year, New Series, New Resolution by Virna DePaul

New Year, New Series, New Resolution As 2013 comes to a close, I reflect fondly on a year full of writing challenges and victories. I worked hard to complete the first two books in my upcoming Belladonna Agency series, which launches with Turned on April 1, 2014, followed by Awakened on July 1, 2014. These stories are gritty, sexy paranormal romantic thrillers about an FBI black ops team comprised partially of vampires. I also completed the second book in my contemporary romance series, the Dalton Brothers Novels, which follows the romantic takedowns of two hot-as-sin identical twin brothers. The titles, Bedding The Wrong Brother and Bedding The Bad Boy fit these “sweet and sultry” stories, very different in tone from my paranormals.

Good riddance to these 2012 commercials!

Unfortunately there is no guarantee, my least favorite commercials could follow me into the New Year, 2013 — hopefully not though. Hopefully, these companies will want to update their message, create a new promotion to entice consumers to try their products — one could only hope. . . . This is one commercial that drove my husband crazy — weeeeeeee — he would actually turn down the sound so as not to hear the pig’s screeching LOL!

New Poll – how I spent my first day of the #NewYear

How did you spend your first day of the New Year? Reading Watching bowl games Recovering from a hangover Working Doing my taxes Shopping Watching movies None of the above, I’ll comment below    pollcode.com free polls 

Guest Post: ‘Authors of the Year’ Picked by Stacey Agdern

A few weeks ago, I watched a special on a music channel that celebrated the ‘Artists of the Year’. It showcased a collection of musicians who’d achieved notable successes in 2012. And while thinking of the books I’d read over the past year, I found myself inspired. As a result, instead of picking a bunch of books that I’d loved over the past year, I decided to focus on the authors that I’d discovered this year, debut or not. Here are mhttp://www.meganhart.com/y ‘Authors of the Year.’ In no particular order.

Something to wet your whistle & bring in the New Year, Elise Sax . . .

Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance. Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family’s matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What’s more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy. When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from … Continued

Time to fess up – what gift did you get that you didn’t want?

Oh yes, don’t look so innocent – we all got one, that dreaded holiday gift from god knows where – the gift that you can’t EVEN keep on giving because, well, it is horrible! So spill, here & now, did it happen to you? Always love those animal gifts — why do people always think your cat needs a sweater?

The best romances of 2012, IMO

There’s one thing about best of lists, they are the best of someone’s opinion . . . . in most cases. Some lists are chosen by sales, number of books sold, but since we’ve no access to industry information of that sort we have to compile our own list, based on what we’ve read. So before the New Year begins offering us more new books to read, R@R decided to list, based on lists, what we thought were the best of romances for 2012. After reviewing many bestseller lists for 2012, we highlighted and compiled what we thought would have been our bests . . . so I guess we’re choosing, the best of their bests? All of this posturing is exhausting! Barnes and Noble is one of the most well respected bookstores in the … Continued

Give yourself permission to let go in this New Year + Giveaway!

Give yourself permission to let go in this New Year by Cassandra Carr I’m learning to let go. I didn’t have much of a choice – in early December an angry rash-like thing developed on my arm. It was shingles. It’s mostly cleared up now, but it forced me to take some time and step back from my normally busy, busy days. Why was that so important? Because one of the primary causes of shingles is stress. And how could I hope to get rid of the shingles if I was still trying to do a million things at once? So I stopped. I watched television. I took naps. I caught up on a little bit of my reading. Now my to-be-read pile is only large enough to last me until the end of 2013. … Continued

The gift you wish they didn’t – really, just didn’t + Giveaway!

I really tried to avoid this topic but it is one that I felt we should address – every Christmas there seems to be one or two gifts that you really don’t want, need or already have . . . did that happen to you this year? It did for me — I actually told my husband I wanted an Ipod so I’d have an updated version — not that I needed it – urgh, so once I opened the gift & saw the delightful little gizmo I felt like I shouldn’t keep it as I really didn’t need it . . . . so, I’ll return it or maybe re-gift it – I’ve not decided just yet . . . fortunately, hubby is good with that. I wasn’t very good in my ‘gift directions’ … Continued

New Years – again??? What’s your resolution – giveaway!

New Years time – another resolution has to be made & although I love to make them I’m not the best at keeping them – you? I’ve made all kinds of resolutions through out the years: Diet, oh yeah, usually every other year for this one Exercise — an annual resolution, urgh Become more involved in our church / community Become more computer savvy – oy . . . and sooooooo many more! What are some of your resolutions — new ones, old ones, maybe one of yours will work for me – goodness knows, the resolutions I make I can’t seem to keep *Grins* Remember, every week, 5 winners are Randomly chosen to win a FREE book — winners announced on Sunday – good luck!

New Year’s Eve, 2012 + Giveaway!!

What is your favorite Holiday? There are so many wonderful holidays that it was really hard to pick my favorite one, but the one that stands out the most to me has to be New Years Eve. Just the thought of the year ending and a brand new year beginning is just over the ‘top’ exciting. Just the thought of starting over, thinking of the things you want to do and accomplish in a brand New Year is very invigorating to me. You might think of vacations to plan, birthdays, new jobs — and even though the Holidays just ended you can begin to plan ahead for the ones that are yet to come in 2012. New Year’s Eve is a time to spend with your friends and family. For me having great food, sharing … Continued

“Celebrating My Birthday With Friends – Plus Giveaway!”

“Celebrating My Birthday With Friends – Plus Giveaway!” By: Catherine Mann Many of my blogs this month have highlighted military heroes. Today I would like to focus on another type of hero/heroine – military spouses! In writing my military romantic suspense novels, I put much thought into crafting the perfect partner for that person in uniform. No question, it’s a unique way of life, full of joy, stress, pride, stress, excitement, and yes, stress. Thinking about military spouses brought to mind this recipe I’ve seen crop up often over the years: Recipe for a Military Spouse 1 1/2 cups Patience 1 lb. Adaptability 3/4 cup Tolerance 1 tsp. Courage A Dash of Adventure Combine above ingredients: Add 2 tablespoons elbow grease. Let sit alone for one year. Marinate frequently with salty tears. Sprinkle lightly with … Continued

Romance in the 20’s by Vonna Harper + Giveaway!

Despite rumors to the contrary, I haven’t been writing since the Dark Ages. Close but at least a dozen years short of that. What I have been doing the past few months is immersing myself in fiction from the 1920s. I’m currently surrounded by a number of stories that appeared in the classic pulp magazines and sold millions of copies. Why are you doing this, you might ask. Hey, I’m delighted you did because hopefully you’ll indulge me for a few minutes. To clarify, all the pulp fiction I’ve been reading was written by one man, Homer Eon Flint who died violently and mysteriously in 1924 at age 36. Why him? One reason. He was my grandfather. I believe whatever writing genes I have came from him. Sentiment aside, every time I open one of … Continued

The Romance Studio + Giveaway!!

We are big fans of romantic fiction here at the The Romance Studio. And that fact alone was the biggest reason that we created this site. We wanted to build a place on the web for all fans of romance. But we fans of the romance genre are a diverse group, yes? All of us are readers. But some of us are writers, published authors, agents, book sellers, cover models, publishers and more. Keeping that in mind, we designed a site that, we hope, has something for everyone. The Romance Studio is an interactive site that is kept fresh and new by user entries. Most every page on the site is generated by user input, most of which is posted instantly to the site. Basic membership is free and allows users to post romance industry … Continued