BWcominginJanuary

Best Westerns: For the Love of Cowboys and Mail Order Brides

"A funny thing happened when I began to read western romance a few years back. I discovered the sub-genre of mail order brides and dove head first into it. I find these stories to be very interesting. For one thing, the premise of moving across the great divide and marrying someone you know very little about is intriguing and romantic. Intrigue and romance are some of the reasons why I read in the first place. These wonderful stories range from sweet to sexy and there is something for every lover of western romance. Here are some of my favorites so far."
a cowboys

A COWBOY’S CHRISTMAS PROMISE by Maggie McGinnis

In a captivating novel spiced with holiday magic—perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Susan Mallery, and Molly O’Keefe—a rugged Montana man mends a Northeast girl’s jaded heart.
love me tender

Love in Mind, Body, and Spirit

"For me, a romance novel is about challenge. It’s about meeting someone who, on the one hand, you’re powerfully attracted to, yet on the other hand brings significant challenges to your life. It’s never easy for the heroine and hero of a romance novel because the story is about character growth."
a cowboys

For the Love of Cowboys: Best Westerns, Holiday Edition

And so it's that time of year again when we run around in preparation of the holidays, never feeling like we have enough time in the day for anything andalways feeling like we are forgetting something. Hopefully, these holiday reading picks will allow you to take a breather from the rush and let some warmth of the Christmas spirit in.
Cowboy-Take-Me-Away-Lorelei-James

For the Love of Cowboys: Best Westerns This Month

 We are thrilled to have Kimberly Rocha of the fabulous Book Obsessed Chicks here today to discuss one of her favorite romance genres – Westerns! Once a month she will be here to make sure you don’t miss her old and new favs set in the wild, wild, west. Kimberly is one of the most well-read, knowledgeable bloggers in all of romance. You can take her recommendations to heart!
  It was a great summer for Western Romances. These are my picks for ones you should catch up on before we head into fall.  BRANDED by Laura Wright This first book in the contemporary western romantic suspense The Cavanaugh Brothers series and it is amazing. Branded has everything a romantic suspense should have, a murder and mystery and of course a sizzling romance with… Continue
oncetasted

California Dreamin’: My Cowboy Hero

Never mind that I was born and raised on the East Coast: cowboys are my weakness. When I was growing up, if you wanted to see a man who spent his days and nights in the saddle the way I longed to, then you watched western series and movies on TV. I fell in love repeatedly. My first cowboy love was Clint Eastwood in the show Rawhide, a love that was reinforced by the spaghetti westerns he made with director Sergio Leone (For a Fistful of Dollars, The Good, The Bad and the Ugly; For a Few Dollars More). Since I was a kid, my love took an interesting form: I didn’t just want to be the impossibly cool cowboy, I wanted to look like him. For a period I went around… Continue
Maggie McGinnis Hero Post Feat Image

It’s the Little Things That Make a Hero

While camping with another couple last summer, the subject of my first book, ACCIDENTAL COWGIRL, came up. My friend D is an avid reader, armed with a Kindle even at the campground, but her hubby G is more of a movie buff. When he started joking good-naturedly about my book and its genre, I was ready to handle it the same way so many of us romance writers do – with tolerance and good humor. He’s never actually read a romance novel, after all. Then, however, he started in on Decker, my hero. Now, I’m fairly attached to Decker, having created him and all. And he is rather perfect, despite his fixable flaws. Picking on me was one thing. Picking on my hero? Oh, no, you don’t. I think it started when G almost… Continue

Sneak Peek Saturday – Montana Bride by Joan Johnston

A DESPERATE DECEPTION
THE PROMISE OF FOREVER
When Karl Norwood’s mail-order bride meets an untimely demise on the way to the Montana Territory, Hetty Wentworth steps in to take her place. Hetty has no idea how she’s going to pretend to be all the things she isn’t—including the mother of two kids. She only knows her deception is necessary if she’s going to save two orphans from the awful fate she suffered as a child. Sneak peek click here –… Continue

How Did I Come Up With That? by Christie Craig + Giveaway!

New York Times bestselling author Christie Craig joins us today on Romance at Random: When I write, the bits and pieces that make up my stories are pulled from my imagination. But my imagination draws from the true-life data filed away in my memory bank. Considering I write about bizarre situations, it should offer a clue to the craziness that happens in my life. In the first scene of The Cop who Stole Christmas, my November 25th release, my heroine, Savanna Edwards, is soaking in a tub with a cup of moisturizing mayonnaise in her hair and a skin-toning Smurf-blue mask on her face. When she hears clanking in her front yard, she leaves her relaxing soak, dons a pink fuzzy robe, and finds a Santa Claus-dressed wrecker driver stealing her car. Savanna’s neighbor,… Continue

Secondary Characters Gone Rogue by Maggie McGinnis

Before I started writing seriously, I used to listen to authors talk about how their characters would take over their books. I was mystified. You’re the author, I’d think. How in the world did you not know what this character was going to do? She’s a figment of your imagination! You created her! You OWN her, for goodness sake! Ha.… Continue

WInner Announced! #ReleaseDay for Accidental Cowgirl + $15 EGC giveaway!

So Accidental Cowgirl comes out today, and this is all kinds of awesome. It’s awesome for me because maybe now I can stop chomping my fingernails in anticipation. It’s awesome for you because you finally get to meet Decker, and this is a Very Good Thing. Because Decker is, well, perfect is a strong word, but we’ll go with it because, well, he just is. And I’m not just saying that because I created him from scratch, I swear. He’s oh-so-hot in those jeans and that Stetson. He walks with confidence, rides with just enough swagger, loves with just enough … well … you’ll have to read to find that out. His eyes can turn a city girl into mush, and his hands?… Continue

Guest Post: With a Little Help from my Friends by Maggie McGinnis

We’re only twelve (12! Yippee!) days away from the official release of Accidental Cowgirl, and I have to be honest. My secondary characters are a little jealous about all the attention Kyla and Decker are getting. Maybe a lot jealous. Jess and Hayley claim they’re the whole reason this story even started, what with them tricking Kyla into this dude ranch vacation, and they think they deserve a little shout-out. Since they’re sort of right (and since I really need them to cooperate for the next two books), I thought I’d give them the attention for today.… Continue

Guest Post: An interview with Kaki Warner + 5 book giveaway!

Guest Author – Kaki Warner, of whom I am a personal fan! Kaki writes a romance that captures the readers heart. You’ll see what I mean in this post – enjoy! Mass Market Release: Heartbreak Creek, a Runaway Bride Novel
Setting: Colorado Rockies, 1870
Subgenre: Western Historical
Hero: Declan Brodie
Heroine: Edwina Ladoux (Ed)
One sentence summary: When a Colorado rancher advertises for a sturdy English-speaking bride to help with his ranch and four children, the skinny southern belle who shows up with her half-black half-sister is certainly not than he expected…but exactly what he needed.… Continue

Embarrassing Moments In and Out of Books + $50 GC winner from Christie Craig

Oh my – I think we’ve all had our share of those! Embarrassing moments are most fun when they are about someone else, don’t you agree? Enjoy Christie’s post! The other day I was speeding to my nine o’clock massage appointment. I was half-way there, a five minute drive, but I was five minutes late. That’s when I realized I’d forgotten something. I had to turn back—HAD to! I was just thankful that I’d remembered before I’d arrived at the massage clinic. Oh, and I prayed Hubby was upstairs, and I wouldn’t have to explain.… Continue

Books for all seasons – Guest post from Carla Kelly

Times change, that is certainly true – join Carla and her introspection about reading books and how we accept those changes. Enjoy! In July, Daughter of Fortune was reissued, my first novel, published in 1984, back in the olden days, when men were men and books were books. The ebook revolution has given older works such as that one a new electronic life. Several publishers are in the process of reissuing what I call my “moldy-oldy” Regency Romances as ebooks.… Continue

Cowboys and romance, what a pleasant combination!

Cowboys need love too – and C H Admirand is a pro at writing about Western love – enjoy! Thanks so much for inviting me to guest blog today, Sue! It’s so exciting to be back at R@R, chatting with everyone. There are bits and pieces of my life that I like to include in all of my stories: my Irish heritage—by using family names in all of my books; my love of family—writing trilogies that usually include sisters, brothers or cousins; my love of baking—I try to have my heroes or heroines cooking or baking something at one point or another in my books; my love of gardening –I like to have my heroines or heroes playing in the dirt; and with the release of my 12th book—sharing a piece of me that goes… Continue

Guest Author, Kat Martin & her favorite places in the sun

Romance At Random is thrilled to have NYT Bestselling author, Kat Martin visiting us today. Explore various geographic locations with Kat that will not only offer you high doses of vitamin D but quite possibly a little romantic heat. Kat is giving away one copy of AGAINST THE SUN to a randomly chosen commenter so comment away – winner announced this week in the post – good luck! By Kat Martin Since my latest book, AGAINST THE SUN, big Jake Cantrell and Sage Dumont’s story, deals with a visit to Texas by a Saudi Arabian sheik and his family, I thought it might be fun to talk about favorite places in the sun.… Continue

Romance Author Lori Wilde and her love of cowboys + Giveaway!

When I tell people I write about cowboys, the topic of chaps invariable comes up. I was born and raised around cowboys and to tell you the truth, when something is very familiar, you tend not to notice it. To understand the allure of chaps, I did a little research.… Continue